top of page
  • Writer's pictureMal

Thank You For Everything, Elvis: August 16th Anniversary Post:

"From the time I was a kid, I always knew something was going to happen to me. Didn't know exactly what."

- Elvis Aaron Presley



It's hard to imagine that Elvis Presley has been gone for 46 years. I was not born when he passed away, nor was I born in the 1950s or 1960s when he was changing the world like no one had ever done before. But I still have a deep, abiding love for this man. Since I've never been good at writing "tributes," I'll try my best in this brief piece to convey how I'm feeling on this day.


How is it possible to miss someone you've never met so much? I often ask myself this question when I reflect on Elvis. The truth is, I, along with millions of fans around the world, are missing him more than ever today. If I had just five minutes alone with him, I would say only two words: "Thank you." Thank you for the music. Thank you for making the world a better place with that music. It's hard for me to put into words the impact that this man has had on my life. Experiences like that can't be explained; they can only be felt with the heart.

Although today is a very sad day, I choose to celebrate Elvis' life. When I first became a fan, August 16th was one of the hardest days of the year for me. I know that Elvis himself would want the fans to celebrate his illustrious life and career, so I plan to do just that. We shouldn't cry because he is gone; we should all smile because he was here on this Earth. The world misses you beyond words, EP. Your truth is marching on.


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page